The Ten Commandments for Cowboys

In light of just finishing up a sermon series on the Ten Commandments, I thought I would post this. It’s a new translation–called the “Old West Version” or OWV. And it’s just for fun. I found it on Bible Belt Blogger.

Just one God.
Put nothin’ before God.
Watch yer mouth.
Git yourself to Sunday meeting.
Honor yer Ma & Pa.
No killin’.
No foolin’ around with another fellow’s gal.
Don’t take what ain’t yers.
No telling tales or gossipin’.
Don’t be hankerin’ for yer buddy’s stuff.

6 thoughts on “The Ten Commandments for Cowboys

  1. Growin’ up where boots ‘n dress jeans were common attire on Sunday morn, these make complete sense!

    I smiled when I read ’em.

    #4 in the Amplified Old West Version adds: and no chaw at Sunday meetin’ unless yer fixin’ t’ swaller it. 😆

    Thanks for passing this along!
    Phil—

    (yes I made that up – my apologies, Moses)

  2. Pingback: Old West Version - Ten Commandments « Vibrance in Ministry !

  3. Phil,

    I worked with a preacher who was a boots kinda guy for Sunday church. I’m from the city–and it took some gettin’ used to. (Like how I’m a-keepin’ with the theme?)

    What does the rest of the Amplified Version say?? 🙂

Leave a comment