Bachelorhood

I had hoped that with a new blog, I would feel refreshed enough to start posting more regularly. And I do.

Tomorrow, Keri and the girls will head to St. Louis for 8 days. For the first 5 years of our marriage, I don’t think that I spent even one night at my house without Keri. The reason was, anytime she went somewhere, we all went. I left her alone tons, but I never stayed alone. Now, since we have moved to Omaha, I have spent 2 weeks already alone, and this will be my third. Very weird. I am excited for her to have the freedom to spend time with her family. It’s wonderful not having to think/worry about scheduling vacation for her through an office-job. This work-at-home thing is great.

Last week, I went to a Pastor’s Appreciation Breakfast. I wasn’t going to go, but the Christian bookstore that put it on called and personally invited me. I went thinking it would be a great chance to meet some local ministers. It was, and I did. But, I also left with 8 new books:

Breakout Churches: Thom Ranier
The TNIV Bible
The TNIV XL Edition Bible
The ESV Bible
A Passionate Life: Mike Breen and Walt Kallestad
The Complete Guide to Marriage Mentoring: Drs. Les & Leslie Parrott
God As He Longs For You to See Him: Chip Ingram
The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe: C.S. Lewis

And they gave me a $20 gift certificate to their store. Not bad for a free breakfast I wasn’t going to go to anyway.

Leave a Reply

