Lord of Life

Well, our plumbing is now done. Plumbers are like doctors. They charge you $250 for like, 4 minutes of work. Now I am waiting on the dishwasher guys to come back and finish installing.

Our sister from the church is hanging on to life still. She is incoherant. She is also pain-free. Her family is by her side. I consider myself to be pretty well acquainted with death, even at my still fairly young age. But, every time you near it, it’s still very sobering. This go-round seems to be a bit harder…because my family is away. So. after spending a few hours with a person at the end of life, I usually counter it by spending a few hours with my kids, who are at the beginning of theirs.

But it seems that Jesus is there. Not because he is the Lord of death…but because he conquered it and instead, is the Lord of life. As hard as it can be, I consider myself to be very priveleged and honored to be able to serve this family and this lady from our church in their hard times.

Leave a Reply

