The Quirks of Being Bi-Vocational, part 2

The other day, I posted part 1. You can read it here.

One of the coolest things about being bi-vocational is your chance to mix and mingle with a lot of people who don’t know Christ at your “other” job.

A lot of ministers whose one and only job is ministry have a really hard time getting out into their community to meet people. They can’t find the time to attend a book club or go to a community meeting or participate in an activity outside of the church building where they get the chance to meet, and really know, non-Christians.
Bi-vocational ministers, assuming their other job is not a part-time ministry gig, have built-in opportunities to meet and know people outside of their church. They have a great chance to invest in a whole pile of non-Christians, former Christians, and ex-Christians. And they are afforded this opportunity simply because they are working a second job.

My second job is at a hotel reservation call center. A couple of months ago, I had a week-long training there that consumed the entire week; from 8-5 each day, Monday through Friday. During the training, I got a neat chance to tell the trainer that I was a minister, that this was a second job for me, and things like this. He asked where my church was and I told him. He mentioned he would like to visit, as he no longer attended church anywhere. He has yet to come, but the seed was planted.

I have a friend there who is a non-Christian, but is studying Christian theology at a local university.

I have another friend there who plans on getting married in about a year, and he mentioned that he would like for me to perform their wedding.

A lot of neat opportunities that I may not have had were it not for being bi-vocational, and forced into a spot to interact with a whole community of people we as ministers are called out to reach.

5 thoughts on “The Quirks of Being Bi-Vocational, part 2

  1. Yes, this is definitely one of the positive aspects of two jobs. I guess it also allows you to relate to the church members on Sunday as well, because you appreciate what it is like working in a secular environment.

  2. As I reflect back on my bi-vocational experience, working as a part-time foreman in a food distribution warehouse there were plenty of opportunities for “ministry”.

    There were in-your-face challenges, there were behind-the-scenes questions, there were opportunities to counsel and to witness.

    Plus there was the ever-present opportunity to walk the talk in the bump and grind of life.

    To be honest I miss that.

  3. David #1,

    I think you are right…there are a lot of neat opportunities to connect with both the Christians in their church on Sundays, but also those who don’t (yet) go to his church.

    A lot of people outside of the ministry don’t think ministers work at all…except on Sundays.

    When I was discussing being bi-vocational with a friend in my church, I was expressing some frustrations. He looked me square in the eye and said, “Yeah, but how much work do ministers really do?”

    Ouch.

  4. David #2,

    Thanks for stopping by again.

    You’re right…we have the chance, when bi-vocational, to really be a part of someone’s life in the daily grind. As a minister, there is no doubt you are a part of many lives (births, deaths, baptisms, marriage), but when bi-vo, you get to see a lot more of these facets.

    And it’s hard when you just work solely in the church. This is definitely one of the perks of being bi-vo.

    I have heard of a church that just has part-time, bi-vocational staff members. They want to be THAT connected to the “real world” and community. Interesting thought.

Leave a Reply

