A Question About Questions

Does anybody out there know how many questions Jesus asked others in the gospels? I am preparing to teach a class on “timely questions Jesus asked” and it would be fascinating to know how many questions he actually did ask.

I have tried google-ing for the answer. No luck. I have tried searching through some of Bible programs. No luck. Any other ideas?

(I know…I could read through Matthew, Mark, Luke and John and count the number of questions he asks. I could do that. I was hoping for something a little less time consuming and tedious.)

I bet the number is astounding.

7 thoughts on “A Question About Questions

  1. Well, I thought I would try to help. So I searched the word “ask*” with Quick Verse. The word occurs 377 times in 369 verses. Many of the questions are from others, not Jesus. Then I thought that I was not doing the best thing. I was taking your joy of studying Scripture. You will learn so much searching out the answers for yourself that I would only hinder rather than help. It is a great question and one that I have not considered. Perhaps I will.

  2. I appreciate you wanting to guard my study of the Scriptures…and believe me, I enjoy studying the Scriptures.

    But, I don’t want to count the number of times Jesus asks a question. That’s not studious…that’s tedious!

    Thanks for stopping by!

  3. You took me wrong. Anyway here is your list. I searched the words “Jesus” and “asked” in the same verse. There probably are some questions that did not show up because different words were used. You will still have to count them.
    (Mat 13:51 NIV) “Have you understood all these things?” Jesus asked. “Yes,” they replied.
    (Mat 15:16 NIV) “Are you still so dull?” Jesus asked them.
    (Mat 15:34 NIV) “How many loaves do you have?” Jesus asked. “Seven,” they replied, “and a few small fish.”
    (Mat 16:8 NIV) Aware of their discussion, Jesus asked, “You of little faith, why are you talking among yourselves about having no bread?
    (Mat 16:13 NIV) When Jesus came to the region of Caesarea Philippi, he asked his disciples, “Who do people say the Son of Man is?”
    (Mat 17:25 NIV) “Yes, he does,” he replied. When Peter came into the house, Jesus was the first to speak. “What do you think, Simon?” he asked. “From whom do the kings of the earth collect duty and taxes–from their own sons or from others?”
    (Mat 20:32 NIV) Jesus stopped and called them. “What do you want me to do for you?” he asked.
    (Mat 22:41 NIV) While the Pharisees were gathered together, Jesus asked them,
    (Mark 3:4 NIV) Then Jesus asked them, “Which is lawful on the Sabbath: to do good or to do evil, to save life or to kill?” But they remained silent.
    (Mark 5:9 NIV) Then Jesus asked him, “What is your name?” “My name is Legion,” he replied, “for we are many.”
    (Mark 5:30 NIV) At once Jesus realized that power had gone out from him. He turned around in the crowd and asked, “Who touched my clothes?”
    (Mark 8:5 NIV) “How many loaves do you have?” Jesus asked. “Seven,” they replied.
    (Mark 8:17 NIV) Aware of their discussion, Jesus asked them: “Why are you talking about having no bread? Do you still not see or understand? Are your hearts hardened?
    (Mark 8:23 NIV) He took the blind man by the hand and led him outside the village. When he had spit on the man’s eyes and put his hands on him, Jesus asked, “Do you see anything?”
    (Mark 8:27 NIV) Jesus and his disciples went on to the villages around Caesarea Philippi. On the way he asked them, “Who do people say I am?”
    (Mark 9:21 NIV) Jesus asked the boy’s father, “How long has he been like this?” “From childhood,” he answered.
    (Mark 10:51 NIV) “What do you want me to do for you?” Jesus asked him. The blind man said, “Rabbi, I want to see.”
    (Mark 12:15 NIV) Should we pay or shouldn’t we?” But Jesus knew their hypocrisy. “Why are you trying to trap me?” he asked. “Bring me a denarius and let me look at it.”
    (Mark 12:28 NIV) One of the teachers of the law came and heard them debating. Noticing that Jesus had given them a good answer, he asked him, “Of all the commandments, which is the most important?”
    (Mark 12:35 NIV) While Jesus was teaching in the temple courts, he asked, “How is it that the teachers of the law say that the Christ is the son of David?
    (Luke 5:22 NIV) Jesus knew what they were thinking and asked, “Why are you thinking these things in your hearts?
    (Luke 8:30 NIV) Jesus asked him, “What is your name?” “Legion,” he replied, because many demons had gone into him.

    (Luke 8:45 NIV) “Who touched me?” Jesus asked. When they all denied it, Peter said, “Master, the people are crowding and pressing against you.”
    (Luke 9:18 NIV) Once when Jesus was praying in private and his disciples were with him, he asked them, “Who do the crowds say I am?”
    (Luke 13:18 NIV) Then Jesus asked, “What is the kingdom of God like? What shall I compare it to?
    (Luke 14:3 NIV) Jesus asked the Pharisees and experts in the law, “Is it lawful to heal on the Sabbath or not?”
    (Luke 17:17 NIV) Jesus asked, “Were not all ten cleansed? Where are the other nine?
    (Luke 18:40 NIV) Jesus stopped and ordered the man to be brought to him. When he came near, Jesus asked him,
    (Luke 20:17 NIV) Jesus looked directly at them and asked, “Then what is the meaning of that which is written: “‘The stone the builders rejected has become the capstone ‘?
    (Luke 22:35 NIV) Then Jesus asked them, “When I sent you without purse, bag or sandals, did you lack anything?” “Nothing,” they answered.
    (Luke 22:48 NIV) but Jesus asked him, “Judas, are you betraying the Son of Man with a kiss?”
    (John 1:38 NIV) Turning around, Jesus saw them following and asked, “What do you want?” They said, “Rabbi” (which means Teacher), “where are you staying?”
    (John 5:6 NIV) When Jesus saw him lying there and learned that he had been in this condition for a long time, he asked him, “Do you want to get well?”
    (John 6:67 NIV) “You do not want to leave too, do you?” Jesus asked the Twelve.
    (John 8:10 NIV) Jesus straightened up and asked her, “Woman, where are they? Has no one condemned you?”
    (John 18:4 NIV) Jesus, knowing all that was going to happen to him, went out and asked them, “Who is it you want?”
    (John 18:34 NIV) “Is that your own idea,” Jesus asked, “or did others talk to you about me?”
    (John 21:17 NIV) The third time he said to him, “Simon son of John, do you love me?” Peter was hurt because Jesus asked him the third time, “Do you love me?” He said, “Lord, you know all things; you know that I love you.” Jesus said, “Feed my sheep.

Leave a Reply

