National Pancake Day

Welcome to National Pancake Day. What will you do to celebrate?

I thought this would be a great opportunity to share with you one of our family’s favorite traditions. Since being a family-man is one of my Big Rocks, we have several of these little traditions.

Every Saturday, as much as we are able, we make a massive batch of pancakes to enjoy as a family. If I am home, I will usually mix up the batter and make the cakes myself. I have a secret recipe that I use and my pancakes are so good that you could, if you wanted to, eat them without any butter or syrup. But, to make them really good, put some peanut butter on them and then syrup. Tastes like candy.

The funniest thing to come out of this little tradition was the creation of “man-cakes.” When I am not home, Keri will make the cakes. She is very frugal and always made tiny little pancakes…only 3″ in diameter maybe. When I take over, I make nice big ones…at least 5″ in diameter. Hence, I call them man-cakes. Our kids love it.

It doesn’t matter how you make them. You can make French Toast or Scrambled Eggs. You can even pour a bowl of Cheerioes. It’s about the time you spend with the kids and the memories you make.

Leave a Reply

