Yes, No, and Brett Favre

I am a football fan. I am a fan of great football players. Brett Favre is one of the greatest.

I feel, though, that Brett has forever tainted his legacy because he can’t let his “yes” mean yes and his “no” mean no. It’s an issue of integrity and character. Nobody can take him seriously anymore.

For example, this afternoon I was reading my Twitter feed. Someone very cryptically tweeted “Brett Favre retires again!” A few years ago, I would have laughed at the notion. This afternoon, after 2 retirements and 2 returns, I had to check my trusty news sources to see if there was any merit to the tweet.

His word means nothing. Jesus thinks, however, that our word should mean everything. “Simply let your ‘Yes’ be ‘Yes,’ and your ‘No,’ No;’ anything beyond this comes from the evil one.” (Matthew 5:37 NIV)

A life of integrity and character includes what we say. On the day that Brett is inducted into the Hall of Fame, we will talk about his touchdowns and his passer rating. But, mark my words: overshadowing all of those great accomplishments will be chatter about his waffling between retired and un-retired.

His legacy is tarnished because he couldn’t make his “yes” mean yes and he couldn’t make his “no” mean no.

Leave a Reply

