From Fat Man to High Fiber

I have been highlighting little changes that I have made in my life and ministry over the last few months. You can read about the first change here and the second change here.

Allow me to highlight a third. My wife and I are getting geared up to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. As the biggest part of those festivities, we have booked a cruise to the Western Caribbean over Thanksgiving. Because I want to look smokin’ hot in my swimsuit, I have set out to lose 25 pounds.

Part of this plan is exercise, which I highlighted in the second post. The other part of the plan is my diet. That’s where the fiber comes in.

That’s right. Fiber. The stuff of senior citizens everywhere.

Fiber is good for several reasons.

  • It makes you feel full, but fiber doesn’t absorb into your body. It simply passes right through. You aren’t hungry, but you aren’t taking anything on.
  • It absorbs the bad cholesterol in your digestive system before your blood can absorb it. This is good for guys like me, who have a family history of high cholesterol.
  • Foods high in fiber are generally low in calorie count. If you know anything about weight loss, you should know that calories are everything. You have to burn more calories than you take in to successfully lose weight. Because high-fiber foods generally have low calorie counts, I am golden here.

Instead of counting calories, I am counting fiber grams. The goal is to eat 40g of fiber each day. The average American eats 10-15. I have had little trouble eating 40g. Another secret is to eat the fiber-ful foods first. Here is how I usually do it:

I eat oatmeal or fiber-enriched pancakes (covered with fresh fruit and whipped cream) for breakfast. Sometimes I will eat a bowl of frosted shredded wheat.

For lunch, I usually have a spinach salad with fresh carrots. I usually put black beans on top, as well as sunflower seeds and/or raisins. I love me a big salad. After that, a peanut butter and honey sandwich or a wheat tortilla wrap.

If I snack during the day, it’s usually on smoked almonds. High in fiber and stinkin’ amazing. Or popcorn.

For dinner, another salad. Then, I usually eat whatever my wife has made for the family. There are lots of ways to “amp up” any meal with added fiber. That’s the cool thing about this diet. I don’t eat anything really different from what I always have. I simply add some fiber, fill up on it, and then eat less of the other food.

So far, following this simple plan coupled with exercise, I’ve lost 12 pounds in 6 weeks. And I’ve only done the diet for 2 1/2 of those 6 weeks!

One thought on “From Fat Man to High Fiber

Leave a Reply

