Lessons Learned from a 5k

RunningThis last weekend I ran my first ever 5k race.

This was a significant moment for me. For years, I had dreamed of being able to run a long distance. Not a starry-eyed dream, but more of a longing to be able to set a lofty goal, train to reach that goal, and then achieve that goal.

That happened for me this weekend.

I ran a 5k in my hometown. That might be an understatement. The 5k literally started and finished in front of my house. I ran well. My best time ever.

I am not one to hyper-spiritualize everything.  But, as I was running I had several things run through my head I was thankful for that may be worth mentioning.

  • I was thankful I had enough food in my belly so that I had energy to run.
    Every year, 15 million children die of hunger. We can help.
  • I was thankful I had running shoes on my feet.
    A ridiculous number of people in this world, mostly living in developing countries, don’t have shoes to wear. You can buy a pair of Tom’s Shoes and they will donate a pair to someone in need. Or, you can donate the shoes you aren’t wearing here. It’s estimated that, in America, there are 1.5 billion pairs of unworn shoes lying around. Let’s get them on some feet.
  • I was thankful I could afford the $20 entry fee.
    At least 80% of the world’s population lives on less than $10/day. That’s only $300/month. I dropped $20 to go for a run. I’m grateful for the opportunity…but what can each of us do without in order to help somebody else who is doing without?
  • I was thankful I had a family who cheered me on at the finish line.
    Africa alone has 11.6 million children who are orphans due to AIDS. I have 4 beautiful children who still have their Mommy and Daddy. We have 2 more beauties, through Compassion International, who call us Mummy and Daddy. Maybe you can sponsor a child who needs a Mummy and Daddy.

What are you thankful for? Can you share it with others?

5 thoughts on “Lessons Learned from a 5k

  1. Congrats on finishing your first 5K! Love hearing how you reflected w/gratitude on things many of us take for granted. Great lessons.

    • Thanks, Bryan.
      My ultimate goal is a half-marathon. I am shooting to do that next fall.
      This spring I am hoping to run a 10k.
      Best to you in your training…make sure you eat a lot of bananas!

  2. Howdy I am so excited I found your web site, I rellay found you by accident, while I was searching on Yahoo for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say thanks for a tremendous post and a all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to browse it all at the minute but I have bookmarked it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the awesome job.

Leave a Reply

