Another Reflection from Catalyst

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

It’s been a struggle for me to blog since I got home from Catalyst. For several weeks leading up to, and for 3 solid days, all I did was blog and tweet and live on the computer. (See all my Catalyst related posts.)

I think my body is detoxing.

And thus, I haven’t had much time, nor desire really, to post a lot here. I have some ingredients in the pot though and hope to roll out some yummy blog goodness starting next week.

Until then, I thought I might share a guest post I wrote recently. My friend, Benson Hines, asked me to share some campus ministry related Catalyst thoughts on his blog, Exploring College Ministry.

Here is an except. Or jump and see the whole post.

When Benson originally asked me to share some insights from the recent Catalyst Conference and how those insights might apply to college ministry, I froze. I drank so deeply from the well at Catalyst that simply choosing one or two insights would be nearly impossible. However, ideas shared at Catalyst have begun conversations within the campus ministry I serve. And it is our responsibility to ensure those conversations translate into action.

One of the most stimulating thoughts I absorbed at Catalyst came from a man named Shane Hipps. Shane served as an advertising executive for Porsche several years ago before God led him to become a Mennonite pastor. Shane stated that we, as Christian leaders, have often heard the phrase, “Methods change; but the Message must never change.” As college ministers, we probably understand this better than most.

Shane, though, challenges this statement. Tapping into his marketing knowledge, he made this simple statement: “The method is the message.”

(Read the rest here.)

Leave a Reply

