Romania 2010

One of the many things I love about campus ministry are the opportunities to travel with our students. I have lots of those opportunities, whether it is road-tripping to a conference or a weekend retreat. It might be our annual trek to New Orleans for our annual Spring Break Mission Trip. A few years ago we had planned a trip to Haiti, only to be forced, with less than two weeks to go, to head to Mexico instead.

This summer I have another such opportunity. A small team of us will beRomania heading to Romania to serve the often-overlooked children of this country with an organization called For God’s Children International.

Below is a copy of a letter I sent to a few folks this week. I thought you might like to read it. Maybe afterwards, you’ll prayerfully consider how you can partner with me in taking the gospel to these kids?

As always, opportunities abound in campus ministry. And this summer, God has opened yet another door for me, and for a small team from the Christian Campus House, to travel to Romania on a mission trip.

From June 28th until July 12th, myself and 4 others will be taking a big step of faith to do the work of the Lord by helping with the ministry of For God’s Children International (FGCI). FGCI has been ministering to the children of Romania and Moldova for 15 years. They have established 3 Children’s Homes, providing family, education, and Christ’s love to countless children. A Children’s Playroom has been established in the children’s wing of a large hospital in Bucharest, Romania’s capital. The Playroom ministers to children who are long-term patients in the hospital as well as to their parents. The Christian Caravan is an on-the-road ministry to villages throughout the country, bringing the message of Jesus to Romanian and Gypsy children.

FGCI provides many other opportunities to serve the children of Romania, but our team will concentrate on the Christian Caravan. Several hours of each day will be devoted to singing with the kids, teaching, doing crafts and games. In FGCI’s words, it is a “virtual VBS on the road program to help children learn about Jesus and his salvation.”

To say that I am excited would be an understatement! This is an incredible opportunity for me, and also for a handful of the students involved with the ministry I serve (the Christian Campus House at Northwest Missouri State University). But, in order for me to participate in this trip, there are a few things I need.

Most importantly, I need a team of people to pray for me, for our team, for FGCI, and for the Romanians. Your prayers are vital to this trip! If you’ll agree to pray for me, I promise to keep you updated with current requests and needs.

If you would agree to praying specifically for this trip, please send me a message and let me know. You can message me directly through Facebook or you can email me: mynameisbrandon (@) gmail (.) com.

Secondly, I need a team of people who would provide financial help. This trip costs around $2,200. By giving, you can become a vital part of our team and a partner in our work. You would be making an eternal investment in the lives of children halfway around the world.

If you can give, please make your check out to For God’s Children International and put my name in the memo line. Then send it to:

Christian Campus House
904 College Ave.
Maryville, MO 64468

Thanks for prayerfully considering this opportunity. I look forward to sharing the journey with you. For occasional updates about our trip, please visit http://www.mynameisbrandon.com.

Grace to you, and peace,

Brandon

Leave a Reply

